My Russian Adoption Journey

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Support

leave a comment »

I knew my news of adopting was going to produce mixed reviews within my circle of family in friends, which is why I waited a year to tell anyone about what I had planned to do.  I needed to make sure that no matter what anyone said to me whether they had a point or not that I would stick to my goal and continue on.

 I got exactly what I expected after making the announcement.  I surprisingly got much more support than negativity, but the negativity stung a little more than I expected.I know that this journey is going to be long and hard and in the end may not result in the outcome I expected but, I’m prepared for the battle and the battle becomes so much more easy if I have support from all angles. 

I’ve mostly been getting the response of “why don’t you have a baby of your own”.  One reason is because that is something I cannot do on my own and something that depends on two people.  Last I checked I couldn’t get myself pregnant.  Secondly, its because I’m young, my body is still young and I can have a baby of my own at anytime and since adoption is so involved its easier to go through it without the responsibilites of another child to get in the way of it.  I imagine once I become a mother it’s going to be harder to adopted, not just financially, but also because the amount of attention a child needs does not exactly mesh well with the obstacles of the adoption process.

 I have my reasons and I just hope that everyone can see how important this is to me and support me no matter what.  I do understand the concerns and respect the responses that I have gotten.

Written by therussianjourney

December 20, 2007 at 6:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

